Lamentable

Staring into space, shaking his head he uttered the sad words People disappoint. 

And it’s true and he’s right.

People disappoint. Again and again and again. We make promises we don’t keep. We speak hurtful words. We lie and cheat and steal and it pains us and others. And we justify our actions and keep on hurting. Injustice surrounds us and we’re suffocating.

And we’re left wondering can you trust anyone? 

And I’m afraid the answer is no, you can’t trust anyone. But I don’t mean it in a fatalistic, cynical, bitter way (even though it sounds like that). I mean that we all share the same sin DNA and because of it, we disappoint.

We’re selfish and egotistical and survivalists. We screw up and even our best intentions are tainted with self-serving motives.

Politicians.  Parishioners.  Pastors.  Teachers.  Students.  Coaches.  Husbands.  Wives.  Friends.  Moms.  Dads.  Kids.  Grandparents.  Employers.  Employees. We all mess up.

Screwing up {sin} is an equal opportunity employer.

So we look to Jesus, the One we put our hope in, to deliver us from our sin state. And He does. But we’re still left here, on this giant suspended sphere justified but not perfected. Still disappointed and disappointing.  So where’s the hope?

For me, today, the only hope is Grace.  Letting others and myself off the hook.  Knowing and believing that others will disappoint and I will disappoint and I can forgive and love and offer grace because I’m not expecting anything more from them. They’re not my only Hope. They’re not my Salvation. They are not the One who I depend upon.

So, then, if you’re a “good Christian” you’re supposed to say hope in Jesus because He’ll never disappoint.  But I don’t know if that’s true. I mean, I do believe I need to hope in Him because without Him I have nothing.  But  I’ve been disappointed by Jesus.  I’ve been baffled by Him.  I don’t always get Him; not in the Bible and not in my own life. He’s an enigma and a mystery.  But then, He’s God and I’m not.  His ways are not my ways, but I can trust that His ways will always be good, even though I don’t understand. I’m such a minute part of huge story…His story of Hope and Goodness…

Yet I still dare to hope
      when I remember this:

The faithful love of the Lord never ends!
      His mercies never cease.
Great is his faithfulness;
      his mercies begin afresh each morning.
I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance;
      therefore, I will hope in him!”

The Lord is good to those who depend on him,
      to those who search for him.
 So it is good to wait quietly
      for salvation from the Lord.

3 thoughts on “Lamentable

  1. The real challenge with betrayals of trust? Learning how to keep it from holding you back. It’s an ongoing struggle for me, anyway. Thanks for sharing… I appreciate your insights.

    Indy

Leave a Reply

