Holes

“You take a bad boy, make him dig holes all day in the hot sun, it turns him into a good boy. That’s our philosophy here at camp green lake.” ~Mr. Sir (Holes)

I dig and I dig and I dig.  Sometimes I find something; some little nugget of significance that keeps me digging for more.  And then, at the bottom of the hole, I stop, pop my head up, look around and see a series of mounds from the dirt of the holes I’ve dug and think Why do I dig more holes?  I realize in that moment that, strangely, I’m digging holes in search of something so big it will fill up the one hole we all carry with us from existence: the God-shaped hole.  And even though the digging is tiring and the pursuit feels vain at times, I’m thankful for the gift of the God-shaped hole that ever leads me back to my Maker.

One thought on “Holes

Leave a Reply

