Another day part two

For public safety reasons (since my snotty nose, watery eyes, constant sneezing and nagging cough appeared uncontrollable) I decided to stay home from church today.  When the family got home, I asked Brad about the sermon and he eagerly shared some of Pastor Ken’s words.  Referring to Psalm 57 when David hides to protect his life, Ken said that sometimes when you’re in the midst of darkness it’s because you’re under the shadow of God’s wing.  You’ve run to God for safety and He pulls you in so close that it’s dark.  You’re in the darkness for your protection.

Brad’s lived through years of depression with me.  He’s walked this long road.  When I hurt, he hurts and vice versa.  As he shared Ken’s words, he immediately teared up thinking of me and specifically what I wrote in my last post.

Knowing I’ve sought God through the ups and downs of this life and continued to search for HIm despite the darkness, this interpretation breathes new life into this Psalm and speaks peace to me today.  Perhaps it will to you too.

Psalm 57
Be gracious to me, O God, be gracious to me,
For my soul takes refuge in You;
And in the shadow of Your wings I will take refuge Until destruction passes by.
I will cry to God Most High, To God who accomplishes all things for me.
He will send from heaven and save me;
He reproaches him who tramples upon me.
God will send forth His loving kindness and His truth.

My soul is among lions;
I must lie among those who breathe forth fire,
Even the sons of men, whose teeth are spears and arrows And their tongue a sharp sword.
Be exalted above the heavens, O God;
Let Your glory be above all the earth.
They have prepared a net for my steps;
My soul is bowed down;
They dug a pit before me;
They themselves have fallen into the midst of it.

My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast;
I will sing, yes, I will sing praises!
Awake, my glory! Awake, harp and lyre!
I will awaken the dawn.
I will give thanks to You, O Lord, among the peoples;
I will sing praises to You among the nations.
For Your loving kindness is great to the heavens
And Your truth to the clouds.
Be exalted above the heavens, O God;
Let Your glory be above all the earth.

2 Replies to “Another day part two”

  1. Thank you for this one, Patty. I know the dark journey better than I would like to know it, yet, I too know the shadow of His wing. Peace and Light to you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

