Could it be?


You are a realist masquerading as a cynic who is secretly an optimist ~Max from the movie Hitch

Standing in my shop kitchen today I had a mild epiphany.  As I’ve grown into adulthood I’ve assumed my best years are sadly behind me and I was too stupid to realize it at the time and take advantage of my prime.  When I look at the future I see tough times and heartache.

But for a minute this morning while making a chocolate souffle for my birthday envisioning the future I found myself smiling.  Could it be my prime is not behind me?  Could it be that my best years…most fullfilling, fruitful and purpose-filled years…are ahead and not behind?  Could it be?  And for a brief moment in time I believed the answer could be yes.

Written a few weeks ago, I pulled this up this morning and was lightened by the words.  How quickly doubt, fear and myopia settle into our minds and hearts.  I’m confident of the path set before me and feel peace.  But as I’ve painfully learned throughout my life, walking in obedience and confidence doesn’t equal worldly success.  People all around are suffering…cancer, failing marriages, unemployment, grief, hurting children, hurting pastors, hurting parents, hurting singles…good solid people, trusting God,  just trying to live facing pain and obstacles at every turn.   All I can do is pray and continue walking and say with the prophet Jeremiah:

Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”

4 Replies to “Could it be?”

  1. The best is yet ahead! Great post, my friend! Thinking of you as the Cursillo weekends approach us. One of these years I’m gonna check out that lovely shop of yours. God Bless!

Leave a Reply

