Crucified with Christ

God showed how much he loved us by sending his one and only Son into the world so that we might have eternal life through him. This is real love—not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as a sacrifice to take away our sins. 
~John (I John 4:9-10 NLT)

It takes a long time to come to a moral decision about sin, but it is the great moment in my life when I do decide that just as Jesus Christ died for the sin of the world, so sin must die out in me, not be curbed or suppressed or counteracted, but crucified.
~Oswald Chambers

Reminders I need today.  So often I live defeated.  Or I live choosing the wrong simply because it’s easier or more natural or I don’t perceive that it hurts anyone…forgetting the One it wounds the most.  Living in love, living in grace, living in truth, living in sacrificial service to others is all a manifestation of dying to sin and dying to self.  And it’s hard.  And frankly, doesn’t seem worth it at times.  Good is not always (or even often) rewarded in this world.  Friends don’t always see how they hurt or recognize grace.  Family doesn’t always want to forgive or accept forgiveness.  Spouses don’t always want to change or appreciate change in you.  It’s life.  And it’s messy.  But what’s the alternative to living for God?  Me on my own throne, in the center of my own universe only hurts others and makes me (and you if you live this way) at some point, unbearable.  No one sets out to be unbearable.  We all want to be loveable.

My thoughts this morning.  Ramble-y and incomplete.  Yes, I know.

3 thoughts on “Crucified with Christ

  1. No one sets out to be unbearable. Gee, most of the time I don’t think we even realize we are. You just wake up one morning and look behind you at all the human wreckage. Oh, wait, that was me waking up….

    There’s got to be some grace in that by itself — recognizing that most times folks are not how they are on purpose. Maybe I can find that, if i look…

    • There’s absolutely grace in realizing very few people try to be annoying pains in the keester and I’m glad I’ve been a recipient of it more times than I care to admit.
      Thanks, as always, for stopping by and offering your perspective.

      • Listened to a podcast while I was traveling a couple of weeks ago. The preacher suggested that the prayer of the tax collector (which I know you know), Lord, have mercy on me, as a daily practice would go a long way toward our own view of others and thus our extension of grace more readily. If I am constantly in view of my own need for mercy, it becomes difficult to look askance at another. I’ve long known the value of such a practice, but hadn’t looked at it in terms of how I treat others. (I can be slow…)

Leave a Reply

