Soberiety

so·ber adj \ˈsō-bər\
so·ber·erso·ber·est

Definitions of SOBER
1. not addicted to intoxicating drink,not drunk
2. marked by sedate or gravely or earnestly thoughtful character or demeanor
3. showing no excessive or extreme qualities of fancy, emotion, or prejudice

For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you. ~Paul to the Roman Church (italics mine)

A lot of my life has been spent seeing myself how I wanted to see myself.  Not seeing who I really am.

The verses above talk about looking at ourselves realistically.  In the Book of Revelation, John writes these words aimed at the church in Sardis:  I know your deeds; you have a reputation of being alive, but you are dead.

They, the Sardinians (or Sardines perhaps?), weren’t using sober judgement with themselves.  They looked alive to those around them but God knew their hearts.  He knew they were dead.  He knew their actions didn’t conform to their words.  He knew the glazed over look in their eyes and useless acts that pointed to a sleepy, luke-warm faith.  Wake up!  He tells them, or you’ll lose it all-even the little you have left.

If you haven’t noticed, I’m a reflective person in general.  But I’ve been surprised lately at how I’ve judged many things in my past through rose-colored glasses.

What do you say and do and think in a day that points to something beyond this world?  Does your life- what your think and do and are passionate about- live up to the reputation you have?

In the last week, I’ve read three separate books from different decades (and heard a sermon) that all talked about living on purpose and intentionally.  Each author/speaker comes at it a different way but they each echoed the prophet Amos who spoke for the Lord saying “seek me and live”.

Seeking God seems like it should be easy.  But it’s not.  It’s easier to look for rules to follow or a theology to keep than to chase after a living God who won’t be boxed in by us.

I wrote this a few weeks ago.  It’s:  Ramble-y.   Incomplete.  Unpolished.

Like me.  The real me.

So, what about you?  Do the real you and your “reputation” add up? Do you find chasing after God difficult? 

Leave a Reply

