Reminders

Passing his beautiful home on my morning walk, I noticed the For Sale sign immediately.
Good for him I thought, guessing the reason for his move.
After that nanosecond of positive thought, my mind immediately went to speculating about who would buy the amazing property and then after another ten feet of walking my brain went from wishing we could buy it to knowing we couldn’t to feeling jealous of whoever the future owner might be.  Ridiculous.  My thoughts continued to digress from there which I will not share in this space for fear of everyone not only *thinking* but actually knowing what an incredibly selfish, flawed person I am.  Again, what a ridiculous woman.
Thankfully, mercifully God whispered reminders at that moment and didn’t let me sink even further into my pity-party.
Reminders of the family who just yesterday had to walked through a profoundly life-changing surgery with their 17-year-old son to stop the cancer.
Reminders of the dear family still in the wake of grief after losing three precious lives in one car accident.
Reminders of the happy young man I spend my days with who has every reason to be jealous or angry or crabby and yet blesses each person he meets with a genuine smile.
Reminders of a husband who loves me despite my flaws…children who live and love and grow…more than enough food…and- faulty plumbing aside- a safe, sturdy, lovely home.

And I can say with King David...

Lord, you have assigned me my portion and my cup;
you have made my lot secure.
The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
surely I have a delightful inheritance.

I will praise the Lord, who counsels me;
even at night my heart instructs me.
I have set the Lord always before me.
Because he is at my right hand,
I will not be shaken.

Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
my body also will rest secure,
because you will not abandon me to the grave,
nor will you let your Holy One see decay.
You have made known to me the path of life;
you will fill me with joy in your presence,
with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

Leave a Reply

