Forgive our debts…

Praying the Fixed-Hour Prayers this morning (don’t know what that is? Click here) , I didn’t skip the Lord’s prayer like I usually do but said it out loud.  The words “forgive us our debts as we forgive our debtors” stuck in my throat.  My voice cracked and the tears welled and threatened to spill over.  In that moment, that simple phrase pierced my heart.

Like a miser gripping money I’ve kept a tight fist on my forgiveness, not letting others off the hook for real or perceived offenses.  Stuffing each unpardoned “sin” in a jar, I store them up waiting for who-knows-what.  I have no idea what I hope to gain.  A fruitless endeavor, over time it poisons my heart and alters my relationships.

Praying for a loosening grip today and grace, grace, and more grace for others…

Lord of all power and might, the author and giver of all good things: Graft in my heart the love of your Name; increase in me true religion; nourish me with all goodness; and bring forth in me the fruit of good works; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.
One Reply to “Forgive our debts…”

Leave a Reply

