Give or take

Give life?

Or take life.

Those are the choices before us today.

Several times in the last few weeks this idea of either giving life or taking life has surfaced.  The first time through a dear friend, the second through TobyMac’s new song “Speak Life”, and finally as I read this verse from Proverbs: The tongue can bring death or life.

My words, my smile (or lack thereof), my actions and body language, my facebook or twitter postings all can either breathe life- nurture, bless, encourage- or suck life.

Who do you want to be?  Do you want others to dread seeing you because they feel judged or used or stupid around you?  Or do you want to be known as someone who speaks life and brings peace  and even when the words you have to speak are hard, they’re enveloped in love and grace?

I know who I want to be.

2 Replies to “Give or take”

Leave a Reply

