The needing and the getting

This quote from Oswald Chambers nagged and pulled at my heart all last week:

If we are consciously aware that we are being mastered, that idea itself is proof that we have no master. If that is our attitude toward Jesus, we are far away from having the relationship He wants with us. He wants us in a relationship where He is so easily our Master and Teacher that we have no conscious awareness of it—a relationship where all we know is that we are His to obey.

I don’t know if I’m constantly aware of being mastered, but I am continually aware that I’m not getting my way.  Same thing?  I don’t know.

What we think we need and what we, in reality, get in life and faith are often two different things.

This thought/question fills my mind as well:  If you claim to have faith in God and trust Christ for salvation and believe that the Holy Spirit is real, you may throw out clichés about God teaching you something or how everything happens for a reason.  These may be true but does it curb the disappointment or frustration or anger of feeling that a need isn’t being met by the One who promises to never leave you or forsake you?

This morning, as I prayed about and contemplated the week behind and the week ahead this verse (from Paul to the Colossian Church) came to mind…Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men,  since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward.  It is the Lord Christ you are serving.  In my mind, although not necessarily answering any of my questions, these words brought a sense of clarity to my needing and getting.  It does say we’ll receive a reward for obedience, but it doesn’t define it and frankly, that’s obviously not the point of the words.  The point of the verse, the point of our lives, the point of obedience in faith is God’s glory because the work is, in every sense, His.

My prayer today from the prophet Isaiah:  Yes, LORD, walking in the way of your laws, I wait for you; your name and renown are the desire of my heart.

2 Replies to “The needing and the getting”

  1. Thanks for yet another heart-convicting and glory-yielding post, Patty.

    You raise the huge issue of trust: If I seek to bring God glory, do I also trust that my deepest needs will also then be met?

    If I seek to make God famous, won’t my priorities be re-shuffled in such a way so there will be true, deep and fulfilling satisfaction in all of life?

    Can I trust that? Do I believe that? Do the actions of my heart follow the words from my mouth?

    Isn’t this where the ‘rubber meets the road’ regarding conversion?

    1. I always love when you respond, Dave. The questions you voice are exactly the ones that lead to the post plus many more thoughts. Even the passage I referenced from Colossians deals with slaves and masters which lead to an even deeper meaning and level of conviction for me. It’s all so complex and yet ultimate trust ends up being so basic and simple.
      Thanks for reading and commenting; I appreciate you!

Leave a Reply

