Staring

I remember staring at the sun when I was little. Then I remember trying really hard not to stare at the sun when I found out it was dangerous. My rebellious nature being what it is, it took all my energy to look away and not stare simply because now I knew I shouldn’t.

Silly child, I know.
I’m still that silly rebellious child. Not with staring at the sun…I’ve conquered that urge. But as God shows me my sin and folly, I’m drawn even more to it (the sin and folly, that is). Jealousy, envy and discontent rear their ugly heads and I’m tempted to stroke and pet and feed the monsters.
In II Corinthians, I read this morning:

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

Because of my bucky nature, I feel always precariously close to losing heart.
So we fix our eyes… to combat losing heart, I’m told to fix, gaze, stare at what is unseen. The writer of Hebrews puts it this way, “run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith”.
Jesus.
So, the Son stare it is.

**Except for the bit about the sun, this Brian Regan clip has really nothing to do with this blog.  But I hope you laughed and enjoyed it just the same.

2 thoughts on “Staring

Leave a Reply

