rhythm

the words hung in the air like smog

i heard them yet didn’t comprehend 

and somewhere deep in the recesses of my heart, Peace beat a steady rhythm

my brain on auto-pilot

i listened

i responded

i cried

then haze and fog and cloudiness took over by head

and somewhere deep in the recesses of my heart, Peace beat a steady rhythm

does brad know

tell brad

do the kids know

tell the kids

do the friends know

tell the friends

does work know

tell work

and somewhere deep in the recesses of my heart, Peace beat a steady rhythm

get supper ready

do laundry

cry

process

friends stopped in

prayers offered

more phone calls

more tears

more laundry

more food

more managing 

and somewhere deep in the recesses of my heart, Peace beat a steady rhythm

sadness and fear

faith and trust

hope and love

anger and rest

and somewhere deep in the recesses of my heart, Peace beat a steady rhythm

be still

be still

be still

be still

be still

and somewhere deep in the recesses of my heart, Peace beat a steady rhythm

4 Replies to “rhythm”

  1. Patty, thank you for your beautiful words. That is exactly how I have felt. So sad but peaceful, scared but peaceful, fearful but peaceful. Peaceful, peaceful, peaceful not is naive way just in a way that only comes from the Giver of peace and Lover of my soul. Two verses have been shouting in my head….. “This is the day The Lord has made. I WILL rejoice and be glad in it” and “The Lord is GOOD; a stronghold in the day of trouble. He knows those who trust in Him!” I love you and am thankful to have you and Kameron as companions on this road.

  2. So beautiful , you always make me feel better with your post,HE is with us always to comfort us in our time of need. love you!

Leave a Reply

