At the lake


Write a sentence.  Delete the sentence.  Rewrite the sentence.  Delete the sentence.  Type a few letters…delete…and the cycle continues.  Frustration sets in and I walk away from the the computer again.

My mind wanders and my heart falters and I struggle to convey in words the beauty, intensity, sadness and joy of the last several days spent at the lake with my dear family.

How do you capture the love and faith and fruit of the legacy of extraordinary people in an ordinary language and possessing only limited writing skills?

The time short and the emotions high, I found myself throughout the three days mentally capturing every moment, trying to freeze-frame it. Twenty-four souls under the same roof and Dad and mom a short walk away, I treasured each moment storing the mental pictures in the scrap-book of my brain hoping the pages won’t fade too soon.  And yet, the memories will, in truth, fade.

Tears come and the screen blurs.  There’s just so much I want to say.  This time, these few day felt ordained…ordered and planned by God for us.  So many pictures I wish I could paint with words but complete thoughts and sentences escape me and I’m left with snippets and single words and phrases…

mutual affection
magnified grace
abounding love
silly laughter
precious young life
fragile old life
tender touches
soft hands
slow walks
long talks
poignant prayers
shared joy and sorrow
shared laughter and tears

shared bread and wine
the legacy of a life well-lived

The legacy of a life well-lived.  That’s the heart of our time together.  My parents faithfulness (not perfection but faithfulness) to one another and to God’s glory is the reason for the sweet fellowship and communion we–all 26 of us– shared for three days.

Thank you, Dad and Mom for the gift of a loving marriage and grace-filled home and authentic faiths.

Thank you, dear sisters, for the grace and beauty you live and breathe and bless me with daily.

Thank you, brothers-in-law, for embracing and loving mom and dad as your own.

Thank you, grandkids, for honoring Grandma and Grandpa with your love and sweet hugs and generous spirits.

We–all of us–can indeed say with the Psalmist:

The Lord is the portion of my inheritance and my cup;
You support my lot.
The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places;
Indeed, my heritage is beautiful to me…
I have set the Lord continually before me;
Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.
Therefore my heart is glad and my glory rejoices;
My flesh also will dwell securely…
You will make known to me the path of life;
In Your presence is fullness of joy;
In Your right hand there are pleasures forever.

…indeed, my heritage is beautiful to me.

6 Replies to “At the lake”

  1. Thanks Patty for, once again, stating the essence of truly holy Coran Deo moments during this past week. It was worshipful, reverential, humbling, meaningful and prayful.I thank the LORD for the grace He has shown our family. Thank you again for the way you articulate your heart for all of us. We love you, Brad and the children. Love you and looking forward to you being here this coming week. DAD

Leave a Reply

