More or Less

John’s disciples came to him and said, “Rabbi, the man you met on the other side of the Jordan River, the one you identified as the Messiah, is also baptizing people. And everybody is going to him instead of coming to us.”

John replied, “No one can receive anything unless God gives it from heaven. You yourselves know how plainly I told you, ‘I am not the Messiah. I am only here to prepare the way for him.’  It is the bridegroom who marries the bride, and the best man is simply glad to stand with him and hear his vows. Therefore, I am filled with joy at his success.  He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.  John 3: 26-30

We live in a society of more.  The funny AT&T commercials with all the sweet little kids sitting around and the straight-faced guy in the suit asking questions like:  “What’s better faster or slower?”,  is a prime example.  The tag line for every commercial is “It’s not complicated.  Bigger is better.”

We want more.
We crave more.
We’re told again and again and again that we need, no, deserve more…
more money
more time
more stuff
more attention
more food
more entertainment
more praise
more space
more beauty
more information
more more more
me me me
consume consume consume

Today– this year, and hopefully the rest of my life– I choose less.

 

One thought on “More or Less

  1. Pingback: Words | Flirting with Eternity

Leave a Reply

